Stephen King

“I get my ideas from everywhere. But what all of my ideas boil down to is seeing maybe one thing, but in a lot of cases it’s seeing two things and having them come together in some new and interesting way, and then adding the question ‘What if?’ ‘What if’ is always the key question.”

– Stephen King
(from the author’s FAQ)

This was one of the many answers to “where do you get your ideas?” My personal favorite is “a small, bloodthirsty elf who lives in a hole under my desk” from On Writing.

Everything said about King has been said already, nothing that I would write would add or take away from the man. What I know is he has been asked the ‘idea question’ so many times, I’m surprised he hasn’t stabbed a fan in the eye.

~ by croatoa on November 2, 2007.

3 Responses to “Stephen King”

  1. Mr. Steven King is the most brilliant and inspiring writer that I have came across to date. I love his page-turning novels, they always seem to hook me right in. He takes people’s everyday fears and brings them to life. It’s like his mind focuses on one thing and he just lets it take a trip. Please keep your novels coming.

  2. Got some Thoughts/?

  3. […] is a question that people ask famous authors a lot, and some of them, like Stephen King, get a bit tired of the question. After all, the *where* seems to an author a lot less important […]

Leave a Reply

 
