Satoshi Kon

“My ideas come from ordinary day-to-day living, such as watching movies, reading books, listening to music, and talking with friends. I get ideas that are linked to trends around the world, but I just take in information from TV, newspapers, and the Internet in a normal way, and I don’t conscientiously conduct any information gathering. The particular moments when I come up with ideas really varies. However, I feel the easiest moment to extract an idea is when I’m talking with someone. When I’m talking with someone, I feel like my mind opens up in some ways.

– Satoshi Kon
(from an interview with Aimee C. Giron at Home Theater, 2005)

I was introduced to Satoshi Kon through his directorial debut, Perfect Blue, a Hitchcockian thriller that spellbounds with Kon’s visual acumen.

He continues with Millennium Actress, Tokyo Godfathers and churned out the trippy television series, Paranoia Agent.

His work never fails to disappoint. Besides blurring the line between fantasy and reality, Kon’s work also is reminiscent of the superflat ideology (a juxtaposition of pop art and otaku culture), introduced by artist, Takashi Murakami.

~ by croatoa on August 17, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
