Lisa Lutz

“The short answer: I have no idea.

The not-so-short answer: All sorts of places. I space out a lot and ideas come to me. Somebody says something funny and I think I should use that in something and then it turns into something else and then something else. Sometimes an idea comes from trying to fit two separate ideas together. When I sit down to write, I always think about what it is that I’m ultimately trying to say. I make sure I’m clear on that, then I forget about it and think about entertainment, since for what I write that’s the ultimate goal.

But mostly my ideas come when I’m totally spacing out. And I’m pretty sure coffee and alcohol help me think of stuff too.”

– Lisa Lutz
(from an e-mail)

Lisa Lutz is the author of The Spellman Files, a detective-sih story about Isabel Spellman and her family. The debut was well-received by critics and publication rights had been sold to over twenty countries and a there’s even talk of a movie.

Lutz also wrote Plan B and swore that she would never screenwrite again. Can’t say I blame her.

She currently lives in Seattle.

~ by croatoa on June 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
