Jodi Picoult

“Usually, a what-if question: what if a boy left standing after a botched suicide pact was accused of murder? What if a little girl developed an imaginary friend who turned out to be God? What if an attorney didn’t think that the legal system was quite good enough for her own child? I start by mulling a question and before I know it, a whole drama is unfolding in my head. Often, an idea sticks before I know what I’m going to do with it. For Mercy, I researched Scottish clans without having a clue why this was going to be important to the book. It was only after I learned about them that I realized I was writing a novel about the loyalty we bear to people we love. Sometimes ideas change in the middle. The Pact was not a page-turner when I conceived it. I was going to write a character driven book about the female survivor of a suicide pact, and I went to the local police chief to do some preliminary research. “Huh,” he said, “it’s the girl who survives? Because if it was the boy, who was physically larger, he’d automatically be suspected of murder until cleared by the evidence.” Well, I nearly fell out of my seat. “Really?” I asked, and the character of Chris began to take shape. Sometimes I write books because other people make the suggestion: Plain Truth came about when my mother said I ought to explore the reclusive Amish. “If anyone can learn about them,” she said, “it’s you.” And sometimes, ideas grow out of the ones I’m researching. That happened with My Sister’s Keeper – information I learned while researching Second Glance was so fascinating to me that I stuck it into its own file and turned it into a story all its own.”

– Jodi Picoult
(taken from the author’s FAQ)

The red-headed Jodi Picoult studied creative writing at Princeton and had two of her short stories published in Seventeen magazine while still a student. After a series of jobs, a marriage and becoming pregnant, she wrote her first book, Songs of the Humpback Whale.

In 2003, she was awarded the New England Bookseller Award for Fiction.

She also wrote for the Wonder Woman comic book series for DC Comics.

~ by croatoa on April 13, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
